Announcing the 2022-23 State Chapter of the Year Awards

2023 MAS Chapter Year Award

We're thrilled to share the seven JSA school chapters that received The Ernest A. Rogers Chapter of the Year Award. This recognition is given annually to the most outstanding JSA school chapters that have demonstrated exceptional efforts in five areas: chapter activities and political awareness, civic engagement and activism, leadership, community service, and event participation. Applications are judged by a panel of teachers, advisors, and JSA staff.

The award is named in honor of JSA’s founder, Professor Ernest Andrew Rogers, more commonly referred to as Prof. Rogers. He had long maintained that one of the primary needs of democracy was to train its youth in the essentials of good government.

The Chapter of the Year Award winners were recognized during the 2023 Spring State conventions. Winners received the following rewards.

  • An engraved plaque honoring the chapter
  • One (1) $1,000 scholarship to a Junior State of America Summer School for onedues-paid chapter member*
  • One (1) full scholarship to a Junior State of America Institute for one dues-paid chapter member*
  • Become eligible for the Junior State of America’s National Civic Impact Award

2022-23 Chapter of the Year Award Recipients

School NameJSA State Region
Kofa High SchoolArizona

Secaucus High School

Morton West High SchoolMidwest
Amity High SchoolNortheast
John H. Pitman H.S.Northern California
Alliance CollinsSouthern California
Lakeview CentennialTexas


June 09, 2023